top of page
  • Tahera Alawi

CCR Question 3





Planning for the CCR


How did your production skills develop throughout this project?


I. What did you already know about film production prior to the task?

● I didn't know as much about film production as I thought in the beginning.

Throughout the task, I watched youtube videos and when I was filming I just

tried things out and if I liked it or my group like it I stuck with that process.


II. What did you know about genre and narrative theory? How did these theories help

you with your production?

● On my blog, I research different types of narrative theories and this helped me

throughout the task as with the research we decided which narrative we want

our film to follow.

● I also researched different types of genre and subgenres that are commonly

used in the film industry. This helped me as it made me know more about film

genres and what they include.


III. What did you need to consider when working in a group/individually to complete

your project e.g. time management, schedules, building in skills practice etc.

● What I needed to consider while working in a group was that when I'm free it

doesn't mean that the people in my group are free. This means that we had to

discuss and plan ahead when we were going to film. The good thing about our

group was that we all lived close by to each other. To communicate with each

other we made a group chat on WhatsApp which helped us with finalising

decisions and make sure that we all knew what was happening. In the

beginning, I didn't think that the filming and editing process would take a great

amount of time. Working in a group isn't as easy as it sounds because you

have to make sure that your contribution is shown and recognised.


IV. What production tools did you realise you would need to use:

Photoshop/iMovie/Final Cut/Cameras/Microphones etc. Did you know how to set

these up effectively for your production?

● For production tools, I knew that I had to be able to use a tripod, camera and

iMovie or final cut pro and as a group, we decided to use iMovie. The reason

that we chose to use was because that as it is our first time using software to

edit a film we thought that we wouldn't need to have any major transitions or

filters which movie provided.


V. How did you teach yourself the skills you needed? Where did you use these skills in


your production?

● I taught myself skills by watching youtube videos. For example 180 degree rule

I watched a youtube video which I posted on my blog as it was really helpful to

watch. I also got taught by my teacher how to set up a tripod, this helped me as

when we were filming I was able to fix the tripods length and to make sure it

was lined up correctly.


VI. How did you move from research to planning, planning to film, filming to

post-production? Did you think about preview screenings and feedback? Did you

have to reshoot to make ideas clearer?

● After our 2nd draft, we decided that we need to reshoot as there were a lot of

clips that looked similar to one another. So I suggested that we should create

and film a murder board. Which we did and we added to our final product.


VII. How is your end product different from your initial ideas? What are the reasons

for this?

● Our final product is very different to our initial ideas. The reason for this is

because we had to refill areas and some of the shot types that we envisioned would

look good and work didn’t.


VIII. Make sure you have covered: time management; your own skills development;

experiments and risks that you took - did they work out?; how did you build in time

to review and reflect?; how were you able to respond to feedback as you went

through the production?; how successful is the end product in achieving your

intentions?

● I feel like the end product is very successful as we listened to the feedback from both

our peers and our teachers. This feedback helped in a lot of ways as we gained new

ideas and it made us improve and develop the final product. Time management was

quite difficult for me for the blog process. Throughout the making of the final product

my skills developed in a major way. For example knowing how to use a tripod and

how to film using a different variety of cameras.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Lovely Little Things. Proudly created with Wix.com

JOIN MY MAILING LIST

bottom of page